Tom Waits: American Genius on Austin City Limits 1978


I hope you were lucky enough to catch at least one of the numerous reruns on PBS of Tom Waits live on Austin City Limits in 1978 over the holidays. If not you can watch it on their site. The video is very small and very dark but even so it makes for some amazing listening.

And if you’re using Firefox v9-9.01 and the page freezes… well, read my previous blog on Firefox to get the fix.

This concert was the first time ‘On The Nickle’ was heard. Which brings me back back back in time to when I lived on The Nickle… “My Blue Period” I call it… laughing at myself and still carrying that romanticized version of being down and out in Los Angeles over one long, hot summer. That story is to come…

To be followed by a rant on the butchering of the film “Romeo Is Bleeding,” titled after the song heard in this concert.

If anyone knows where to find a copy of Tom Wait’s “Big Time” video, please do tell!

Setlist:

Recorded December 5, 1978
  • Summertime/Burma Shave
  • Annie’s Back in Town/I Wish I Was in New Orleans
  • A Sweet Little Bullet From a Pretty Blue Gun
  • On the Nickel
  • Romeo is Bleeding
  • Silent Night/Christmas Card From a Hooker in Minneapolis
  • Small Change
5 comments on “Tom Waits: American Genius on Austin City Limits 1978

  1. Thanks for posting this. I missed the airing, but will check out the link. “Christmas Card From a Hooker in Minneapolis” is one my favorites.

your two cents:

